Art Nouveau and Wilhelminian Quarter in Bonn


53113 Bonn: Together with the Weststadt, Bonn's Südstadt is considered the largest contiguous (and preserved) Gründerzeit quarter in Germany. Bonn-Bad Godesberg also has a large contiguous Gründerzeit quarter. Due to the mixture of uses, these quarters are regarded as the urban prototype of the "city of short distances". Furthermore, the building density helps to create inexpensive living space and reuse-friendly floor plans often allow the buildings to be used for well over 100 years. Completion: 1914

Mixed use as an important contribution to sustainable urban development
The urban development model of the Wilhelminian and Art Nouveau quarters is the mixture of residential, work and other non-residential uses. The city quarters of the Wilhelminian period, which are still popular today, are a good example of how buildings can be constructed that are usable for far more than 100 years. Since the "New Charter of Athens" (2003), building density and a mixture of uses have once again been regarded as the urban planning guiding principle of the European associations for urban planning and architecture. Since 2007, this guiding principle of the "Sustainable European City" has also been adopted by Europe's building ministers in the Leipzig Charter. In the newly planned quarters, however, those responsible are still finding it difficult to actually implement the mix of uses. In many municipalities, monocausal urban structures are still being developed. Here the residential area, there the commerce, elsewhere trade and educational facilities. Traffic flows can be significantly reduced in the city of short distances. A so-called qualified density of development helps to save costs in the long run and to create inexpensive living space. It is therefore all the more helpful to take a closer look at these proven neighbourhood structures.

Architects

Anton Becker, Anton Butscheidt, Max Cronenberg, Carl Edler, Hermann Schmitt, Wilhelm Weinreis, et al.

Publications
Schopp, Richard; Hass, Helena (2000) : Gebaute Poesie: Jugendstil und Gründerzeit in Bonn. Bonn
Denk, Andreas; Flagge, Ingeborg (1997): Architekturführer Bonn. Berlin
Fahr-Becker, Gabriele (1996): Jugendstil. Cologne

Link
https://de.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/S%C3%BCdstadt_%28Bonn%29



Last Updated: December 7, 2020

Similar projects on sdg21:
All project/s of the planning office: ; City region: Bonn and surrounding area; Country: Germany; Characteristics: 03 - 4 floors, 05 - 6 floors, Block Edge, Condominiums, Multi-storey housing, Rental apartments, Residential; Thematic: Historic settlements and neighbourhoods before 1980, Mixed wood construction, Mix of uses

Jugendstil- und Gründerzeit-Quartier in Bonn


53113 Bonn: Die Bonner Südstadt wird zusammen mit der Weststadt als das größte zusammenhängende (und erhaltene) Gründerzeit-Viertel in Deutschland bezeichnet. Auch in Bonn-Bad Godesberg gibt es ein großes zusammenhängendes Gründerzeit-Viertel. Diese Viertel gelten durch die Nutzungsmischung als städtebaulicher Prototyp der “Stadt der kurzen Wege”. Weiterhin hilft die Bebauungsdichte preiswerten Wohnraum zu schaffen und umnutzungsfreundliche Grundrisse die Gebäude oft weit über 100 Jahre zu nutzen. Fertigstellung: 1914

Nutzungsmischung als wichtiger Beitrag einer nachhaltigen Stadtentwicklung
Städtebauliches Leitbild der Gründerzeit- und Jugendstilviertel ist die Nutzungsmischung von Wohnen, Arbeiten und sonstigen Nichtwohnnutzungen. Die bis heute beliebten Stadtquartiere der Gründerzeit sind anschauliches Beispiel dafür wie weit über 100 Jahre nutzbare Gebäude gebaut werden können. Die Bebauungsdichte und die Nutzungsmischung gilt seit der “Neuen Charta von Athen” (2003) wieder als städtebauliches Leitbild der europäischen Verbände für Stadtplanung und Architektur. Seit 2007 wurde dieses Leitbild der “Nachhaltigen europäischen Stadt” auch in der Leipzig Charta von den Bauministern Europas verabschiedet. In den neu geplanten Quartiere tun sich allerdings die Zuständigen nach wie vor schwer damit, die Nutzungsmischung tatsächlich umzusetzen. In sehr vielen Kommunen werden nach wie vor monokausalen städtebauliche Strukturen entwickelt. Hier das Wohngebiet, dort das Gewerbe, an anderer Stelle Handel und Bildungseinrichtungen. Dabei lassen sich Verkehrsströme in der Stadt der kurzen Wege signifikant reduzieren. Eine sog. qualifizierte Dichte der Bebauung hilft dauerhaft Kosten zu sparen und preiswerten Wohnraum zu schaffen. Umso mehr ist es hilfreich sich diese bewährten Quartiersstrukturen genauer anzuschauen.

Architekten

Anton Becker, Anton Butscheidt, Max Cronenberg, Carl Edler, Hermann Schmitt, Wilhelm Weinreis, u.a.

Veröffentlichungen
Schopp, Richard; Hass, Helena (2000) : Gebaute Poesie: Jugendstil und Gründerzeit in Bonn. Bonn
Denk, Andreas; Flagge, Ingeborg (1997): Architekturführer Bonn. Berlin
Fahr-Becker, Gabriele (1996): Jugendstil. Köln

Link
https://de.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/S%C3%BCdstadt_%28Bonn%29



Zuletzt aktualisiert: 7. Dezember 2020

Ähnliche Projekte auf sdg21:
Alle Projekt/e des Planungsbüros: ; Stadtregion: Bonn und Umland; Land: Deutschland; Charakteristik: 03 - 4 Geschosse, 05 - 6 Geschosse, Blockrand, Eigentumswohnungen, Geschosswohnungsbau, Mietwohnungen, Wohnhof; Thematisch: Historische Siedlungen und Quartiere vor 1980, Holz-Mischbauweise, Nutzungsmischung