Car-free neighbourhood with 9000 units in Utrecht


Newly built districts with space-efficient mobility offers


2:14 min - 10/4/2018

3526 KM Utrecht: On the west side of the Merwedekanal (Adr. Kanaalweg 30), a new sustainable urban quarter is being built in a central location not far from Utrecht Central Station. An urban development plan for the redevelopment of an industrial area along the canal was drawn up by the municipality of Utrecht together with ten landowners.
The plan envisages a mixed district with 17 blocks. Here, 6,000 to 9,000 apartments are to be built for around 12,000 residents. An urban quarter is to be created with a mix of living, working and staying. The area is to become a showcase for healthy and sustainable living with innovative concepts for recycling, energy production, climate adaptation and mobility solutions. It is intended not only to become a pleasant place to live, but also to act as a new link between the surrounding districts. Size: 60 ha. Planned completion: ~2024

Even by Dutch standards, the city of Utrecht is surprisingly bike and pedestrian friendly, but in Merwede there are plans to improve this even further. While in much of the city motorists are treated as guests on 'pedestrian streets' - or cycle lanes - there will be virtually no cars in the soon-to-be redeveloped Merwede district. Shops, schools and other amenities are within easy walking distance and the centre of Utrecht, one kilometre to the north, can be reached after a short bike ride.

Spatially efficient forms of mobility
In order to keep the total area used for mobility at the same level despite the growing population, it is necessary that people choose more space-efficient forms of mobility (walking, cycling and public transport). The City of Utrecht wants inner-city densification to contribute to a healthy future in which economic vitality, tourist attractiveness, cultural vitality, quality of life, safety and sustainability in neighbourhoods and districts are interlinked ('Healthy Urban Living'). Walking and cycling for shopping, commuting and recreation will contribute to this.

Multimodal mobility hubs
The concept of multimodal mobility hubs is being pursued as an innovative solution for Merwede. These hubs focus among others on:

  • Car sharing
  • a high quality public transport connection
  • On-call taxis (and in the longer term, self-driving on-call vehicles);
  • Self-service pick-up kiosks for parcels
  • Bicycle rental system
    and
  • Availability of amenities for daily needs such as grocery stores or a coffee bar near the hub.


Video (2018) about the new development "Merwede" in Utrecht (NL)


Newly built districts with space-efficient mobility offers



A new sustainable urban district is being built on the west side of the Merwedekanal in a central location not far from Utrecht Central Station. The plan is to create a mixed-use district with 6,000 to 9,000 homes for approximately 12,000 residents. The area will become a showcase for healthy and sustainable living with innovative concepts for recycling, energy production, climate adaptation and mobility solutions. Planned completion: by 2024



Show the whole blog post >>

Links
https://merwede.nl
2020 March: www.theguardian.com/world/2020/mar/15/forward-thinking-utrecht-builds-car-free-district-for-12000-people
2020 March: www.fastcompany.com/...new-dutch-neighborhood...



Last Updated: November 19, 2020

Similar projects on sdg21:
All planning agency project(s): ; City region: ; Country: Netherlands; Characteristics: 07-10-storey, Multi-storey housing, Rental apartments; Thematic: Car free living, CarSharing, Green roofs, Mobility, Mix of uses, Resource-efficient construction, Free of parking spaces

Autofreies Quartier mit 9000 WE in Utrecht


Neubauviertel mit raumeffizienten Mobilitätsangeboten


2:14 Min. – 4.10.2018

3526 KM Utrecht: An der Westseite des Merwedekanals (Adr. Kanaalweg 30) entsteht in zentraler Lage unweit des Hauptbahnhofs von Utrecht ein neues nachhaltiges Stadtquartier. Ein städtebaulicher Plan zur Umgestaltung eines Industriegebiets am Kanal wurde von der Gemeinde Utrecht zusammen mit zehn Grundbesitzern ausgearbeitet.
Der Plan sieht einen gemischten Stadtteil mit 17 Blöcken vor. Hier sollen 6.000 bis 9.000 Wohnungen für ca. 12.000 Bewohner entstehen. Es soll ein Stadtquartier entstehen mit einer Mischung aus Wohnen, Arbeiten und Verweilen. Das Gebiet soll ein Vorzeigeobjekt für gesundes und nachhaltiges Leben mit innovativen Konzepten für Recycling, Energieerzeugung, Klimaanpassung und Mobilitätslösungen werden. Es soll nicht nur ein angenehmer Ort zum Leben werden, sondern auch als neues Bindeglied zwischen den umliegenden Stadtteilen fungieren. Größe: 60 ha. Geplante Fertigstellung: ~2024

Auch für niederländische Verhältnisse ist die Stadt Utrecht erstaunlich fahrrad- und fußgängerfreundlich, aber in Merwede gibt es Pläne, dies noch weiter zu verbessern. Während in weiten Teilen der Stadt Autofahrer als Gäste auf „Fußgängerstraßen“ – oder Fahrradstraßen – behandelt werden, wird es im bald sanierten Stadtteil Merwede so gut wie keine Autos geben. Geschäfte, Schulen und andere Einrichtungen sind bequem zu Fuß erreichbar, und das Zentrum von Utrecht, einen Kilometer nördlich, erreichen Sie nach einer kurzen Radtour.

Raumeffiziente Mobilitätsformen
Um die für Mobilität genutzte Gesamtfläche trotz der wachsenden Bevölkerung auf dem gleichen Niveau zu halten, ist es erforderlich, dass sich die Menschen stärker für raumeffiziente Mobilitätsformen (Gehen, Radfahren und öffentliche Verkehrsmittel) entscheiden. Die Stadt Utrecht möchte, dass die innerstädtische Verdichtung zu einer gesunden Zukunft beiträgt, in der wirtschaftliche Vitalität, touristische Attraktivität, kulturelle Vitalität, Lebensqualität, Sicherheit und Nachhaltigkeit in Stadtteilen und Stadtteilen miteinander verknüpft sind („Healthy Urban Living“). Zu Fuss gehen und Radfahren zum Einkaufen, Pendeln und Erholen werden dazu beitragen.

Multimodale Mobilitätshubs
Es wird das Konzept der multimodalen Mobilitätsknoten als innovative Lösung für Merwede verfolgt. Diese Hubs konzentrieren sich unter anderem auf:

  • Carsharing
  • eine qualitativ hochwertige öffentliche Verkehrsverbindung
  • Bereitschaftstaxis (und längerfristig selbstfahrende Bereitschaftsfahrzeuge);
  • Selbstbedienungs-Abholkioske für Pakete
  • Fahrrad-Leihsystem
    und
  • Verfügbarkeit von Einrichtungen des täglichen Bedarfs wie Lebensmittelläden oder eine Kaffeebar in der Nähe des Hubs.


Video (2018) über das Neubauviertel “Merwede” in Utrecht (NL)


Neubauviertel mit raumeffizienten Mobilitätsangeboten



An der Westseite des Merwedekanals entsteht in zentraler Lage unweit des Hauptbahnhofs von Utrecht ein neues nachhaltiges Stadtquartier. Der Plan sieht einen nutzungsgemischten Stadtteil mit 6.000 bis 9.000 Wohnungen für ca. 12.000 Bewohner entstehen. Das Gebiet soll ein Vorzeigeobjekt für gesundes und nachhaltiges Leben mit innovativen Konzepten für Recycling, Energieerzeugung, Klimaanpassung und Mobilitätslösungen werden. Geplante Fertigstellung: bis 2024



Den ganzen Blog-Beitrag anzeigen >>

Links
https://merwede.nl
2020 März: www.theguardian.com/world/2020/mar/15/forward-thinking-utrecht-builds-car-free-district-for-12000-people
2020 März: www.fastcompany.com/…new-dutch-neighborhood…



Zuletzt aktualisiert: 19. November 2020

Ähnliche Projekte auf sdg21:
Alle Projekt/e des Planungsbüros: ; Stadtregion: ; Land: Niederlande; Charakteristik: 07-10-geschossig, Geschosswohnungsbau, Mietwohnungen; Thematisch: Autofreies Wohnen, CarSharing, Dachbegrünungen, Mobilität, Nutzungsmischung, Ressourceneffizientes Bauen, Stellplatzfrei