The Federal Award ENVIRONMENT & BUILDING initiated by the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU) and the Federal Environment Agency (UBA) under the patronage of Federal Minister Svenja Schulze honors projects that already realize the idea of a new Bauhaus in the sense of holistically sustainable buildings. In 2021, the prize will be awarded for the second time, this time in four categories. All players in the building sector are eligible to apply. The closing date for entries is 25 May 2021.. The prize will be awarded on 7 September by Parliamentary State Secretary Florian Pronold and UBA President Dirk Messner.

The discussion about the climate, environmental and health impacts of buildings and their construction has long since reached the centre of society. Topics such as primary energy demand, grey energy or healthy building are no longer just the preserve of experts, but are also attracting the attention of more and more private and public building owners. And rightly so - because the building sector consumes enormous raw material and energy resources, and building products can be harmful to the environment and health. Sustainable solutions already exist today and are already being implemented. The Federal ENVIRONMENT & BUILDING Award therefore honours lighthouse projects in the field of sustainable building and helps to bring the EU Commission's vision of a "New European Bauhaus" to life.

About the Federal Award

This year, the Federal Award will again be presented in the categories "Residential Buildings", "Non-residential Buildings" and "Neighbourhoods". A fourth category, "Climate-friendly refurbishment", is new. In addition to these competition categories, the jury may award special prizes for particularly innovative approaches among the projects submitted.

Conditions of participation

Due to the thematic breadth, all actors in the building sector are invited to apply: from builders and developers to offices for architecture, building services engineering, urban or landscape planning to manufacturers or research institutions. The call for entries is aimed at buildings that have already been completed in Germany or neighbourhoods that are at an advanced stage of planning; multiple applications in different categories are possible (also applies to refurbishment projects!).

What awaits the winners

The award winners will receive public attention on several levels. The award ceremony will take place on 7 September 2021 at the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety in Berlin, where the award-winning projects will be presented to experts and the media. The award-winning projects will also be featured on the websites of UBA and the Federal Environment Ministry. UBA is having films made on the award-winning sustainability examples, which the winners can then use for their own public relations work. Furthermore, all award-winning projects will be documented in a book.

For more information on the conditions of participation in the Federal Environment & Building Award and last year's winners, please visit the Federal Award website:

Application deadline: 25 May 2021

Source: BMU

Keywords: Contests & Prizes