Ford housing estate in Cologne


Cologne-Niehl: Redevelopment and addition of 11 apartment blocks with rental apartments. 300 flats before refurbishment, 345 flats after refurbishment. Average 47 m² before refurbishment, approx. 55 m² after refurbishment. Architecture: ARCHPLAN Münster. Client: State development company (LEG Wohnen NRW). Completion: 2010

Size 300 WE (before refurbishment)
345 WE (after refurbishment)
GFZ: 1.0
Completion 2010 (start of construction 2007)
Project Redevelopment and addition of 11 blocks of flats with rental apartments
Special features The three-storey rows of houses were originally built for workers at the Ford works.
Address
Amsterdamer Strasse 271 to 281, Königsberger Strasse 1a to 9f, Tilsiter Strasse 9- 13, Nesselrodestr. 47a-b and 49a-c
History Here, LEG NRW had further developed its stock from the 1950s into a solar housing estate. The three-storey rows of houses were originally built for workers at the Ford works.

Photo gallery 2016


View all 33 photos >>
Energetic concept Existing building: Reduction of the heating requirement through external thermal insulation composite system, reduction of thermal bridge losses and new windows. Thus achieving the KfW 60 standard. Extension: KfW-40 standard (= 3-litre house). This meant a CO2 reduction from approx. 3,000 tons to approx. 180 tons per year.
Controlled ventilation with heat recovery
Local heating centres with gas condensing technology and support from solar thermal. 60 % coverage via solar thermal collectors. The evacuated tube collectors were installed on the south-facing monopitch roofs of the head-end buildings.Further information on the energy concept: EnergyAgency.NRW http://energietools.ea-nrw.de/...5284
Wood construction The fourth and fifth storeys of the Ford housing estate are constructed entirely in timber, so there were high requirements for fire protection.not only the exterior and interior walls and the ceiling structures were made of timber elements, but also the staircase enclosure walls and the walls for the fire compartments were prefabricated in highly fire-retardant timber frame and cross-laminated timber solid constructions and assembled in a short time.

More info on timber construction:
Trade journal "Bauen mit Holz" 05/2009, 06/2009 and 08/2009
Trade journal Mikado 5/2009

Open Space-
design
The residential environment was redesigned with tenant gardens, playgrounds and meeting places, including rainwater infiltration, whereby the old tree population was largely preserved.
Prizes / Awards Solar Settlement NRW
German Building Owner Award - Modernisation 2011
Rental housing offers www.leg-wohnen.de
Links www.archplan.de/...
WerkstattStadt project database of the Federal Institute for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development (BBSR): www.nationale-stadtentwicklungspolitik.de/...Koeln_Niehl_Fordsiedlung.html
www.huber-sohn.de/dachaufstockung


Zuletzt aktualisiert: 11. June 2021

Similar projects on sdg21:
All project/s of the planning office: ARCHPLAN; Urban region: Cologne and surrounding area; Country: Germany; Characteristics: 03 - 4 floors, Increase; Thematic: Mixed wood construction, Wood construction, Resource-efficient construction, Solar Settlement, Solar thermal, Water reservoir, Heat accumulator

Fordsiedlung in Köln


Köln-Niehl: Sanierung und Aufstockung von 11 Wohnblocks mit Mietwohnungen. 300 WE vor der Sanierung, 345 WE nach der Sanierung. Durchschnittlich 47 m² vor der Sanierung, ca. 55 m² nach der Sanierung. Architektur: ARCHPLAN Münster. Bauherr: Landesentwicklungsgesellschaft (LEG Wohnen NRW). Fertigstellung: 2010

Größe 300 WE (vor Sanierung)
345 WE (nach Sanierung)
GFZ: 1.0
Fertigstellung 2010 (Baubeginn 2007)
Projekt Sanierung und Aufstockung von 11 Wohnblocks mit Mietwohnungen
Besonder­heiten Die dreigeschossigen Häuserzeilen wurden ursprünglich für Arbei­ter der Ford-Werke gebaut.
Adresse
Amsterdamer Straße 271 bis 281, Königsberger Straße 1a bis 9f, Tilsiter Str. 9- 13, Nesselrodestr. 47a-b und 49a-c
Historie Die LEG NRW hatte hier ihre Bestände aus den 50er Jahren zur Solarsiedlung weiterentwickelt. Die dreigeschossigen Häuserzeilen wurden ursprünglich für Arbeiter der Ford-Werke gebaut

Fotogalerie 2016


Alle 33 Fotos anschauen >>
Energetisches Konzept Bestand: Senkung des Heizwärmebedarfs durch Wärmedämmverbundsystem, Reduzierung der Wärmebrückenverluste und neue Fenster. Dadurch erreichen des KfW-60-Standards. Aufstockung: KfW-40-Standard (= 3-Liter-Haus). Dies bedeutete eine CO2-Reduktion von ca. 3.000 Tonnen auf ca.180 Tonnen im Jahr.
Kontrollierte Lüftung mit Wärmerückgewinnung
Nahwärmezentralen mit Gasbrennwerttechnik und Unterstützung durch Solarthermie. 60 % Deckung über solarthermische Kollektoren. Die Vakuumröhrenkollektoren wurden auf den nach Süden ausgerichteten Pultdächern der Kopfbauten installiert.Weiterführende Informationen zum Energiekonzept: EnergieAgentur.NRW http://energietools.ea-nrw.de/…5284
Holzbau Das vierte und fünfte Geschoss der Ford-Siedlung ist durchgängig in Holzbauweise ausgeführt, somit hat es hohe Anforderungen an den Brandschutz gegeben.Nicht nur Außen- und Innenwände sowie die Deckenkonstruktionen wurden in Holzelementen hergestellt, auch die Treppenumfassungswände und die Wände für die Brandabschnitte wurden in hochfeuerhemmenden Holzrahmen- und Brettsperrholzmassivkonstruktionen vorgefertigt und in kurzer Zeit montiert.

Weitere Infos zum Holzbau:
Fachzeitschrift „Bauen mit Holz“ 05/2009, 06/2009 und 08/2009
Fachzeitschrift Mikado 5/2009

Freiraum-
gestaltung
Das Wohnumfeld wurde mit Mietergärten, Spiel- und Treffpunkten unter Einbeziehung von Regenwasserversickerung neu gestaltet, wobei der alte Baumbestand zum größten Teil erhalten geblieben ist.
Preise / Auszeichnungen Solarsiedlung NRW
Deutscher Bauherrenpreis – Modernisierung 2011
Mietwohnungs-angebote www.leg-wohnen.de
Links www.archplan.de/…
Projektdatenbank WerkstattStadt des Bundesinstituts für Bau-, Stadt- und Raumforschung (BBSR): www.nationale-stadtentwicklungspolitik.de/…Koeln_Niehl_Fordsiedlung.html
www.huber-sohn.de/dachaufstockung


Zuletzt aktualisiert: 11. Juni 2021

Ähnliche Projekte auf sdg21:
Alle Projekt/e des Planungsbüros: ARCHPLAN; Stadtregion: Köln und Umland; Land: Deutschland; Charakteristik: 03 - 4 Geschosse, Aufstockung; Thematisch: Holz-Mischbauweise, Holzbau, Ressourceneffizientes Bauen, Solarsiedlung, Solarthermie, Wasserspeicher, Wärmespeicher